Pilgrimage - The Seven Churches of Revelation

Right click and select Open Link in New Window to view full size

View on

A Photographic Record of the Pilgrimage that took place in October 2010 led by 'Tricia and Richard Impey

In the Book of Revelation, the last book of the New Testament we the read of the visions St. John had whilst in captivity on the island of Patmos.

In these visions he hears Jesus telling him to:

“Write on a scroll what you see and send it to the seven churches: to Ephesus,
and to Smyrna, and to Pergamos, and to Thyatira, and to Sardis, and to
Philadelphia, and to Laodicea.”

There is a common pattern to the letters although they differ in length according to the nature of each community. Christ addresses each church, identifying himself and describing the nature of the community. He then challenges or reproaches the church in question. He promises that everyone who conquers will be rewarded and appeals:

“He who has an ear. Let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches

Ephesus Revelation 2:1-7 - the church that had forsaken its first love
Revelation 2:8-11 - the church that would suffer persecution
Revelation 2:12-17 - the church that needed to repent
Revelation 2:18-29 - the church that had a false prophetess
Revelation 3:1-6 - the church that had fallen asleep
Revelation 3:7-13 - the church that had endured patiently
Revelation 3:14-22 - the church with the lukewarm faith

Our guide Demir presents Richard and 'Tricia to

The Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople

image richard and patriach