First Words

October means dark nights and cold mornings. It is a time to enjoy the fruit that is in season, and above all October is Harvest.

 

The Harvest Festival will be held on Sunday 10th October at 10am, a time to remember, even in these difficult days, all that we have to give thanks to God for!

 

It is good to see that the Parent & Toddler group in the Gatty Hall has started up again. Please pray for the leaders and the parents/grandparents and children.

 

The Harvest Supper will be in Church this year on Friday 15th October - look out for more details.

 

We have baptisms on Sunday 3rd October at 12 noon. It is so good to be able to baptise children again.

 

On Monday 4th October at 7.30pm the PCC will be meeting with Revd Ian Parkinson, our assistant Archdeacon. On the agenda will be our relationship with St Mark’s Grenoside and especially my role there as ‘oversight minister.’

 

Thursday 7th October at 10.30am, St Mary’s Daytime Gathering, a monthly time of fellowship, prayer & study held during the day for those unable to make the evening gatherings.

 

On Saturday 9th October at 12.30 there will be a Chapeltown Wedding at St Mary’s - please pray for the couple getting married.

 

On Wednesday 13th October 7.30pm in Church we will have the first ‘Soul Sanctuary.’ A time to meet for prayer. Each session will include instruction on contemplative / meditative prayer and most of the session will be given over to praying. If this is something that is new to you why not come along?

 

On Friday 15th October it is Ecclesfield Primary School’s Harvest Service - unfortunately not in Church this year but I will be taking part via Zoom!

 

After the morning Eucharist on Sunday 17th October, I will be heading to St Mark’s for a Baptism service at 11.30am.

 

The Ministry Team are meeting on Tuesday 19th October at 10am in Church.

 

On Wednesday 20th October at 7.30pm in Church we will have the second “St Mary’s Gathering.’ A time to meet together for prayer, fellowship, and study.

 

On Thursday 21st and Friday 22nd October I am taking part in some national training via Zoom.

 

On Monday 25th October we will be welcoming parents and Godparents to Church for Baptism Preparation at 7pm.

 

And on Wednesday 27th, Thursday 28th & Friday 29th October from 10 to 11.30am I will be having training in a new course for Churches called, “Being With.”

 

Finally on the afternoon of Sunday 31st October at 4pm we will be hosting the first of two ‘Annual Memorial Services’. On the 31st of October we will be inviting families who had funerals from 2019-2020. (The service for families whose funerals fell from 2020 - 2021 will be on Sunday 7th November at 4pm).

 

October is looking like a very full and varied month. Please pray for all of these events and for me as I minister here at St Mary’s.

 

God bless,

 

Tim